Adventures in homemade, budget aware cooking.

Journey with me

Seeing as we don’t yet know each other, it’s okay for me to confess, in anonymity of course, my secrets to you, isn’t it?  Well, here’s one of my secrets, my secret that is the impetus behind this blog: I have (on occasion) googled “What should I make for dinner tonight?”  The real secret though is the fact that I, always disappointed with the search results, resort to serving popcorn or cheese and crackers for dinner.

Before I was married, I was quite content with my saltines and Tillamook cheese and the fact that I didn’t have to drive myself mad trying to come up with cheap, tasty dinners to serve the husband.  But he’s skinny.  So skinny in fact that I fear visiting my in-laws and having them conclude that he’s getting skinnier… aka that his wife isn’t feeding him.

I know that they don’t really think that (I love my in-laws very much).  After all, as husband says, he was skinny with his Mum cooking for him too – but there is something in the desire of not wanting your husband to die of malnourishment, having had nothing but crackers to eat for months.

So here we are.  Learn with me, if you will, as I explore the intricacies of culinary arts brought to life in my small apartment kitchen.  Although, before we start, I should warn you, I have two cooking rules that often conflict: 1) I am on a tight weekly budget and need to cook more than once every seven days, so if an ingredient (or a cut of meat) is too expensive, it’s getting replaced and 2) I am working on expanding our cultural horizons in the kitchen and will try to keep things as authentic (albeit, inexpensive) as possible.

There we are.

And of course, you ought to know right from the beginning, I am cooking from scratch here.  (I have time… plus I can’t help thinking it’s just going to be better).

Welcome to my kitchen where we can relish is successes and laugh (I might cry once or twice too) over failures.  Bon Appetit!

One response

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    July 10, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

