Adventures in homemade, budget aware cooking.

Garlic-Cumin Black Beans

I was under the impression that rice is tricky to cook.  Then I tried to make beans.  My impatient cooking-style did NOT co-exist very well with the lengthy process of cooking dried black beans.  It took me several months, but I finally built up the courage to try again.  This time, I left the beans on low and went to an appointment for a few hours.  I think that helped.  I also started to cook them well before it was dinnertime, and well before I was hungry so I didn’t even feel the need to rush them along so I could eat.  My beans don’t hold a candle next to real ones, cooked by Latin Americans who know what they are doing, but they weren’t bad.

Garlic-Cumin Black Beans (adapted from Mark Bittman’s “The Best Recipes in the World”)

  • 1 lb dried black beans
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • ½ cup minced onion

Soak the beans overnight in water.  Drain them, put them in a pot and cover them with fresh water.  Cook on medium-high heat.  When they boil, add the crushed garlic and the cumin.  Partially cover and simmer until they are tender, 2-3 hours (or maybe 5 if your beans are like mine…)  Add the salt, pepper, minced garlic and more cumin if you like.  Cook another 5 minutes.  Stir in the onion.  Serve warm.

These are great with any Mexican dish.  You can also follow this basic recipe with pinto beans as well.

Oh, and anyone have a good recipe for Baked Alaska?  The prospect of baked ice cream intrigues me…

One response

  1. Discovered your blog post via bing the other day and absolutely like it. Keep up this fantastic work.

    September 1, 2010 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

