Adventures in homemade, budget aware cooking.

Ranger Cookies

Yesterday, I gleefully pulled Harry Potter #2 AND #5 off the shelf at my local library.  I was so excited to find these two books available.  Don’t worry that #1, 3 or 4 weren’t available.  I have read the series so many times now it doesn’t matter which book I jump into (it probably wouldn’t matter which chapter either…)  How many times is it okay to read the same book?  Your favourite book?  Seven?

Anyways, the whole situation got me thinking about my cooking philosophy.  I often scour cookbooks in search of new recipes to try and new things to make.  When I find something that the husband and I love, I tend to file the recipe away the same as I do for the mediocre ones I come across.  To me, food isn’t like books.  I really struggle to re-make things!  I think it’s a disease, really.

I made the BEST ranger cookies ever a few days ago.  I need to remember to treat this recipe like one of my favourite books.  I need to make it again.  These cookies were gooey in the middle and crispy around the edges.  The brown sugar and butter gave them a caramel flavour.  And, unlike the last Ranger Cookie recipe I failed with, they were FLAT!  Maybe you don’t like your cookies flat, but that’s how mum’s always were and that’s how I think they should be.  (If you don’t want flat cookie – the horror – refrigerate your batter between uses and avoid putting your batter on hot cookie sheets.)

Ranger Cookies (Makes 4 dozen… don’t worry, they are THAT good.  You’ll eat them all)

  • ¾ cup butter
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 2 small eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 ½ cup flour
  • ¾ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 ½ cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
  • ½ chopped walnuts

*Instead of the raisins, coconut and nuts, feel free to put in whatever you like.

Cream the butter.  Add the sugars and cream.  Add the eggs and vanilla.  Mix.  Stir in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Combine.  Stir in the remaining ingredients.  Drop batter onto ungreased baking sheets.  Cook for 8-10 minutes at 375F.  Let sit for 1 minute, then remove them to cooling racks.

I took my out of the oven when the middles were still uncooked.  They firmed up on the cooling racks.

4 responses

  1. Julia

    Sarah,

    If 7 is the magic number of how many times you can read a book, I think I have failed miserably. Pretty sure I’ve read Harry Potter more than 7 times. A lot more. And one of my friends listens to it on tape on a regular basis.

    Thanks for the cookie recipe! They look delicious and I can’t wait to make them.

    -Julia

    August 30, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    • Yes, I think you are quite right. Have you read the Hunger Games? That’s another one to read over and over and over again!

      September 1, 2010 at 7:00 am

  2. Kerry

    I think my mom has a great idea for “rating” her recipes. If she tries a new recipe, especially one in a cookbook (because who can remember which recipes they have actually tried??), she then puts a letter grade next to it. Ya know, like A+, A, A-, etc. It’s great because then later you can remember if you liked the recipe or not.

    September 7, 2010 at 7:13 am

  3. I usually use smiley faces, but I imagine grades would give me a little more to work with. Thanks Kerry’s Mum!

    September 7, 2010 at 8:33 am

Leave a Reply

